There are several types of migraines. Many people with migraines may suffer with more than one type. The two most common types are migraines without aura, formerly known as “common migraines”, and migraines with aura, formerly known as “classical migraines.” Aura accompanies approximately 25% of migraines and typically involves visual symptoms, such as zig-zag lines, blurry vision, temporary vision loss or flickering lights. Aura usually commences before the onset of the headache and can last anywhere from 15 minutes to 1 hour. Other specific migraine types that are recognized by the International Classification of Headache Disorders (ICHD) include:

  • Chronic migraine
  • Complications of migraine
  • Probable migraine
  • Episodic syndromes that may be associated with migraine.

Additionally, subsets of migraine with aura include hemiplegic migraine, basilar migraine, vestibular migraine and aura without migraine, which are all pretty rare.

Please follow and like us: